Beginnings & Endings

The coffee is still good in my hometown, and the people are still friendly and talkative. Most of my old school friends have moved on, and the university campus has changed, but this city still feels like home to me. I am back now, for at least a little while. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from my 3 years in Alberta, it’s to enjoy every day, to seize the moment. For me, that enjoyment comes from coffee by the open window at a downtown café, where I’m currently taking up residence, working on my third cup of the day.

This is not an easy post to write. I wanted to write about the road trip from Calgary to Windsor, all the little towns and big-ish cities I passed through, the lakes and rivers and hills. It was the trip of a lifetime. I’ve seen the flat of the prairies and the hills and lakes of Northern Ontario, saw snowflakes (in September!) in a town near the Ontario/Manitoba border, and, just west of Kenora, Ontario, I saw the Northern Lights. A couple of years ago, watching the film, One Week, I wanted to experience that cathartic moment when Josh Jackson’s character finally finds “grumps” (a mythical creature he’s not sure even exists) in the form of a humpback whale off the coast of Vancouver Island. Something about water, and whales. But I didn’t see any whales when I went to the Pacific Ocean. My cathartic moment happened at 12:30 in the morning somewhere along the Trans Canada, when I looked up and saw Aurora Borealis dancing across the night sky. Maybe it was the calm before the storm, that last moment of peace before the stress of unemployment came crashing down on me. Whatever it was, it felt like Aurora was dancing just for me, like I was the only one on the highway who could see those lights in the sky. I think it was the universe telling me everything is going to be alright.

oak lake mb

It was a very long trip, and I can now say that over the course of the past 3 years, I’ve touched two oceans, slept in multiple locations, and drunk coffee in several provinces – British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, and Nova Scotia. Not bad for a girl from small-town Ontario!

This will be my last post on this blog. It’s time for me to join the real world, and in order to do that, I think I need to make my digital presence as scarce as possible. This blog will still exist, just not in the same capacity. There will be a few new ones, linked on my homepage, just for artwork (photography and drawing) and writing. I’m heading off into the world of adulthood, and I’m taking my adventures offline while I navigate toward my thirties.

Until we meet again….

lake superior

Leave a Reply

